The upcoming 2017/2018 Season features the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra’s extraordinary new commission for Canada’s 150th celebration. The True North is a choreographed Canadian symphony with a world premiere performance taking place on Saturday, 28 October, 2017 – a highlight of the Orchestra’s 2017/2018 Season.

Capturing behind-the-scenes collaboration on the road to the True North, our unique documentary series explores the creative inspiration for the commission and follows the collaboration of the composers, dancers and musicians involved.

Arctic Symphony, V.O Glorious Arcticus – Postlude by Vincent Ho, performed by the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
City Suite: Concerto for Amplified Cello & Orchestra by Vincent Ho, performed by Shauna Rolston, cello and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
The Shaman: Concerto for Percussion & Orchestra, III, Fire Dance, performed by Evelyn Glennie and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
All Music © Promethean Editions Limited

Dr. Vincent Ho
President & CEO Paul Dornian
Walter and Irene Deboni
Featuring Yukichi Hattori

Created by: Emil Agopian